The Kershaw County Historical Society is incorporated by The State of South Carolina and as such is subject to the South Carolina Nonprofit Corporations Act.

Officers 2019-2020

President Tony Scully
Vice-president Joan Inabinet
Treasurer John Miller
Secretary Melissa Saavedra

Board Members

The elected officers, plus Charles Baxley, Elsie Goins, Betsy Greenway, Peggy Ogburn, Julie Putnam, Kathee Stahl, and Harvey Teal

Special Committees

Newsletter/Web editor/Publicity Joan Inabinet
Publications Committee: Chairman Harvey S. Teal,
with Charles Baxley, Davie Beard, Bill Funderburk, Elsie Goins,
Glen Inabinet, Joan Inabinet, Kathee Stahl
Preservation Easements Committee: Chairman Kathy Hill
with Bill Funderburk, John Miller
Nominating Committee: Chairman Charles Baxley
Program Refreshments: Melissa Saavedra
Bonds Conway Hostess: Kathee Stahl

Purpose of the Society
(from The Constitution of the Kershaw County Historical Society)

The Society shall operate for the enjoyment of its members and as a public benefit to seek, acquire, study, conserve, record, compile and publish information concerning the history of Kershaw County; to present and educate its members and the public in regard to the history of Kershaw County; to mark historic sites; and to preserve the history, heritage, and historic places of Kershaw County.

Recent Honors
Awards for A History of Kershaw County, the Society’ s publication program, its newsletter Update, its local newspaper column Yesteryear, and services of Society volunteers have been received over the past few years from the Landmark Conference of the South Carolina Confederation of Local Historical Societies. Recognition has also been given by the City of Camden.

Our Regular Newspaper Column for the Society

Follow Harvey Teal’s column for the Society in the Camden, S.C., Chronicle-Independent.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: